OR

I'm looking for in the

The National Metrology and Testing Laboratory is France's reference facility in the field of scientific measurements. It has been tasked with accompanying the entire French nation in its evolution and progress in this field, while contributing to corporate competitiveness and community well-being.

LNE's mission of overseeing French metrology


Since 2005, the French national government has assigned responsibility for supervising and stimulating the field of French metrology to the LNE Laboratory, as the metrology specialization in France has been organized into a network of laboratories.

To efficiently guide France's national metrology network (known under the acronym RMNF), a Metrology Committee was created in order to assist LNE with its assigned mission. This Committee is composed of representatives from the main public sector bodies carrying out metrological activities, academic experts and industry representatives. Its role primarily entails establishing medium- and long-term strategic orientations in the field of metrology and then both validating and monitoring the successful execution of metrology research programs. Committee members are appointed by administrative decree.

The RNMF itself is composed of 10 laboratories: the French National Metrology Laboratory (LNE), plus nine other facilities, which are officially designated by name and recorded by European and international bodies, respectively the EURAMET Association and the International Bureau of Weights and Measures (BIPM).

  • LNE: French National Metrology Laboratory
  • The nine designated laboratories:
    • LNE-LNHB at the CEA (Atomic Energy Commission)
    • LNE-SYRTE at the Paris Observatory
    • LNE-LCM at the CNAM (Engineering Research Center)
    • LNE-CETIAT
    • LNE-ENSAM
    • LNE-IRSN
    • LNE-LADG
    • LNE-LTFB
    • LNE-Trapil

The respective missions and responsibilities of each of these metrology laboratories have been described on the French Metrology Network's website.

French Metrology website

Scientific and technical missions performed by metrology laboratories

Metrology at the national level is primarily intended to generate and implement the units adopted by the International System of Units (abbreviated SI), as well as to facilitate access for users from all backgrounds (research, industry or control bodies) to the metrological references they require, all within the scope of a notion of traceability that has been rigorously defined.

RNMF member laboratories must also fulfill the needs of society at large and industries in meeting the challenges now being posed in sectors like energy, health, the environment, the space program and new technologies. Their mission extends to developing references with increasingly detailed precision and covering extreme value ranges or complex environmental conditions (e.g. nanometrology).

The projects being pursued within the framework of RNMF seek to:

  • implement the units adopted by the international System of Units (SI) - multiples and sub-multiples along with the scales associated with certain units – by means of conducting new experiments and devising reference methods for a wide array of magnitudes and value ranges;
  • develop reference and transfer standards to satisfy the needs expressed by industry as well as society;
  • participate in all inter-laboratory comparisons organized by the CIPM and/or EURAMET, which are respectively the international and European metrology organizations, and in bilateral comparisons in the aim of ensuring international equivalences (within the scope of CIPM's MRA, i.e. Mutual Recognition Arrangement) among national measuring standards, measurement scales and reference methods and materials used by national metrology laboratories.

All RNMF member laboratories disseminate the experience they've acquired by proposing training modules to promote knowledge transfer to industry and across laboratories.

Over 250 researchers are actively involved in both advancing research in the field of metrology and showcasing French expertise at the international level.

Key milestones

115

research projects, including 60 JRP
(Joint Research Programs)

190

publications in peer-reviewed journals

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

325

papers delivered

64

ongoing theses

 

 

 

 

 

Research projects

Consult the research projects being conducted under the aegis of the French Metrology Network on the network's website:

French Metrology website

×
En poursuivant votre navigation sur ce site, vous acceptez l’utilisation de cookies conformément à notre politique de données personnelles. En savoir plus.

Le Laboratoire national de métrologie et d’essais est le laboratoire français de référence dans le domaine de la mesure. Il est chargé d’accompagner la collectivité nationale dans son évolution et ses progrès et contribue à la compétitivité des entreprises et au bien-être des citoyens.

Mission de pilotage de la métrologie française


Depuis 2005, L’Etat a confié la responsabilité du pilotage et de l’animation de la métrologie française au LNE, la métrologie française étant constituée d’un réseau de laboratoires.

Pour assurer le pilotage du réseau national de la métrologie française (RMNF), un Comité de la métrologie a été créé pour assister le LNE dans sa mission. Le Comité de la métrologie est composé de représentants des principaux organismes publics exerçant des activités de métrologie, d’experts du monde académique et de représentants de l’industrie. Son rôle consiste notamment à définir des orientations à moyen et long terme en métrologie et à valider et suivre la bonne exécution des programmes de recherche en métrologie. Les membres sont nommés par arrêté.

Le RNMF, est constitué de 10 laboratoires : le Laboratoire national de métrologie français, le LNE et neuf autres laboratoires, laboratoires qui sont nommément et officiellement désignés auprès des instances européenne et internationale, respectivement l’association EURAMET et le BIPM (Bureau international des poids et mesures).

  • Le LNE, laboratoire national de métrologie
  • Les laboratoires désignés :
    • le LNE-LNHB au CEA
    • le LNE-SYRTE à l’Observatoire de Paris
    • le LNE-LCM au CNAM
    • le LNE-CETIAT
    • le LNE-ENSAM
    • le LNE-IRSN
    • le LNE-LADG 
    • le LNE-LTFB
    • le LNE-Trapil

Les missions et responsabilités de chacun des laboratoires de métrologie sont décrites sur le site de la Métrologie Française.

Site de la Métrologie Française

Missions scientifiques et techniques des laboratoires de métrologie

La métrologie au niveau national a pour principal objet la réalisation et la mise en œuvre des unités du Système international d’unités (SI) et l’accès des utilisateurs de toutes origines (recherche, industrie ou organismes de contrôle) aux références métrologiques dont ils ont besoin, dans le cadre d’une traçabilité rigoureusement établie.

Les laboratoires du RNMF doivent ainsi répondre aux besoins de la société et des industries et répondre aux défis dans de nouveaux secteurs tels que l’énergie, la santé, l’environnement, le spatial ou les nouvelles technologies. Ils doivent aussi développer des références avec des précisions de plus en plus fines et dans des gammes de valeurs extrêmes ou des conditions environnementales complexes (nanométrologie par exemple).

Les projets développés dans le cadre du RNMF ont pour objectifs :

  • la mise en œuvre les unités du Système international d’unités (SI) - multiples et sous-multiples et les échelles associées à certaines unités – par la réalisation de nouvelles expériences, méthodes de référence et cela pour divers grandeurs et gammes de valeurs,
  • le développement d’étalons de référence et de transfert pour répondre aux besoins de l’industrie et de la société,
  • la participation  à toute comparaison inter-laboratoire organisée par le CIPM et / ou EURAMET, organisations respectivement internationale et européenne de la métrologie, aussi à des comparaisons bilatérales, ceci afin d’assurer l’équivalence internationale (dans le cadre du CIPM MRA, Mutual Recognition Arrangement) des étalons nationaux de mesurage, des échelles de mesure, ainsi que des méthodes et matériaux de référence des laboratoires nationaux de métrologie

L’ensemble des laboratoires du RNMF valorisent l’expérience acquise en proposant des formations pour assurer le  transfert des connaissances vers l’industrie et les laboratoires.

Plus de 250 chercheurs sont acteurs du développement de la recherche en métrologie et porteurs au niveau international de l’expertise française.

Chiffres clés

115

projets de recherche dont 60 JRP
(Joint Research Program)

190

publications dans des revues
à comités de lecture

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

325

communications

64

thèses en cours

 

 

 

 

 

Projets de recherche

Retrouvez les projets de recherche menés dans le cadre du Réseau de la Métrologie Française sur le site de la Métrologie Française :

Site de la Métrologie Française

×
En poursuivant votre navigation sur ce site, vous acceptez l’utilisation de cookies conformément à notre politique de données personnelles. En savoir plus.