June 3 - 7, 2024
  • Partager sur Twitter
  • Partager sur LinkedIn

Summer school ELENAM : metrology at the nanoscale

The summer school ELENAM : metrology at the nanoscale will be held in Frejus, Villa Clythia, from June 3rd to June 7th, 2024. The school is open to any junior or senior researcher, research engineer, PhD student or postdoctoral fellow.


This international school is devoted to the measurement at the nanoscale. It covers a large number of physical and chemical quantities: dimensions, electric and magnetic field, capacitance, resistance, optical properties, etc., and a large panel of characterization techniques: near field microscopies, electronic microscopies, optical spectroscopies, X-ray diffraction, etc. A particular attention will also be given to mathematical, computational and numerical methods (molecular dynamics (MD), finite elements (FEM), density functional theory (DFT) simulations and artificial intelligence (AI). The specificities of the measurement process at such small scale will be emphasized and specific tools and methods exposed within a mix of lectures and experimental / numerical tutorials.


Logo du LNE



Main topics

  • Dimensional metrology
  • X-ray diffraction
  • Electric modes derived from AFM: Kelvin Force, Conductive-AFM, Scanning Capacitance, Scanning Spreading Resistance, Scanning Microwave and Piezoresponse Force Microscopies.
  • Thermal characterization (3ω, SThM, optical techniques)
  • Optical spectroscopies (Raman, ellipsometry...)
  • Magnetic characterizations
  • Uncertainty evaluation
  • Mathematical and computational methods: MD, FEM, DFT simulations and AI.

Abstract submission

The participants will have the opportunity to present their work during the poster sessions. Abstracts should be sent to:  Elenam.SummerSchool@lne.fr.
The deadline for abstract submission has been extended to 15th of April 2024. Authors will be notified of acceptance of their paper for poster presentation by 23th of April 2024.

Please find the templates here :


The school will combine lectures, practical sessions, poster session, round tables and exhibition times to encourage exchanges between participants, speakers, partners and exhibitors.

PhD student information 

The Elenam summer school can be recognised as scientific training for PhD student.


Registration fees (excl. tax): 750€ max and 400 € min depending on status and affiliation (no registration fees for CNRS staff). The deadline for the registration is fixed to 30th of April.

Please note that Villa Cynthia offers both single and shared rooms. We will allocate single rooms to the first applicants, unless you let us know (contact address: Elenam.SummerSchool@lne.fr) that you would like to share a room and with whom.

Beyond the capacity of the single rooms, shared rooms will be allocated and you will always have the opportunity to let us know with whom you would like to stay.


Registration for permanent CNRS staff
Please contact Elenam.SummerSchool@lne.fr for 2 steps registration procedure.

Practical information

The price includes accommodation, meals and coffee breaks from lunch on Monday to lunch on Friday. It is possible to book additional nights (at extra cost) by contacting "La villa Clythia" directly at the following address: frejus@caes.cnrs.fr.

The ELENAM summer school will start on June 3 at 1:30 p.m. for the lunch. Host will be start at 12:30 p.m.

The school will be held in the Centre de Vacances et Colloques La Villa Clythia, located on the French Riviera, near Nice.


By train*: from Paris, Lyon, Nice, Lille, Marseille.

  1. Get off at “Saint-Raphaël – Valescure” train station.
  2. Walk to “Saint-Raphaël Gare Routière - Quai H” the bus station.
  3. Take line 3 to “Fréjus Gare Routière”. Get off at “Villa Clythia” bus stop.

*There is a direct overnight train from “Paris Austerlitz at 8:51 am” to “Saint-Raphaël – Valescure at 8:33 pm”.

In addition to the regional bus lines, we will organise shuttle from the train station “Saint-Raphaël – Valescure” (a survey will be launched soon).

For more information

Scientific committee

Olivier BOURGEOIS, Institut Néel - CNRS - Rosine COQ GERMANICUS, Crismat, Université de Normandie, CNRS - Johannes HOFFMANN, Federal Institute of Metrology (METAS) - Petr KLAPETEK, Czech Metrology Institute (CMI) - Hans Werner SCHUMACHER, Physikalisch-Technische Bundesanstalt (PTB). 

Organising committee

Nolwenn Fleurence, Laboratoire national de métrologie et d’essais (LNE) - Brice Gautier, Institut des Nanotechnologies de Lyon (INL) - Severine Gomes, Centre d'Energétique et de THermique de Lyon (CETHIL) - Sylvie Le Roy, Laboratoire national de métrologie et d’essais (LNE) - François Piquemal, Laboratoire national de métrologie et d’essais (LNE).

Partners and Exhibitors