OR

I'm looking for in the

Time-frequency: 3 researchers awarded the LNE Research Prize

On Wednesday 6th  December 2017 LNE-SYRTE awarded three researchers for their work on time-frequency. Jocelyne Guéna, Daniele Rovera and Michel Abgrall received the LNE Research Prize from Thomas Grenon, Director General of LNE, which rewards researchers who contribute to the success and scientific reputation of LNE and the Réseau national de la métrologie française (RNMF) that it manages.

In order to achieve International Atomic Time (TAI) and Coordinated Universal Time (UTC), which are the time scales on which our society is based, it is necessary to have extremely accurate frequency standards. Jocelyne Guéna, Daniele Rovera and Michel Abgrall have been working for several years at the Paris Observatory on the realization and use of these primary time and frequency standards. In particular, they have implemented a unique set of atomic fountains and developed methods and means that have led, for over 10 years, to an exceptional availability of time-frequency standards with optimal accuracy.

They also have developed a new method for the realization of UTC (OP), the physical realization of UTC from the Paris Observatory and the French legal time base, established from a hydrogen maser piloted using one or more atomic fountains. This work is one of the best in the world and differs from UTC by only a few nanoseconds!

For this 9th edition of the LNE Research Prize, the LNE is proud to reward 3 researchers who enable France, and the LNE-SYRTE in particular, to make a major contribution to the “second” measurement and its dissemination.

Thomas Grenon, Managing Director of LNE

Close-up of the work

Perform time standards

Photo horlogeIn 2017 we celebrated the 50th anniversary of the "second atomic". Indeed, since 1967 the second, in the International System of Units (SI), is no longer defined according to the rotation periods of the Earth but according to the period of radiation of a cesium atom. This definition, although more precise and stable, requires the implementation of advanced metrological instruments and solid expertise in order to produce reference standards.

First of all, the physics at the heart of the standard must be studied in ever greater depth to obtain the best accuracy. Then develop reliability, control and, for certain applications, transportability of standards, in order to make this ultimate level of performance effectively available to users. Finally, the performance of frequency standards is transferred to time scales, in particular international atomic time (TAI), coordinated universal time (UTC) and local physical representations of UTC.

This is what Jocelyne Guéna, Daniele Rovera and Michel Abgrall have been using with the greatest success in recent years.

They have paid also great attention to the sustainability of their work, while demonstrating remarkable availability for their operations. Among the many results following their involvements, we will remember:

  • A major contribution to the development of international atomic time, representing more than 40% of all TAI calibrations over the past 10 years.
  • The realization of the first calibrations of international atomic time based on a secondary representation of the second: the hyperfine transition of the rubidium atom.
  • Absolute frequency measurements at the state of the art. In particular, optical frequency measurements are crucial for connecting the optical and microwave domains, and for moving towards a redefinition of the second from the optical domain.
  • The realization of tests of fundamental physical laws that contribute to the search for a unified theory of 3 interactions (electroweak, strong and gravitational) and to the search for dark matter.
  • State of the art testing of satellite and fibre optic time transfer methods.
  • The characterization of the cold atom space clock PHARAO (Projet d'Horloge Atomique à refroidissement d'Atomes en Orbite) developed by CNES and French industry.
  • The provision of national time references by several methods and for many scientific, industrial and societal applications. For example, the CNES, the DGA or telecommunications manufacturers use connections to the LNE-SYRTE national time references for their activities.
Fontaine atomique

The prizewinners

Jocelyne Guéna

Jocelyne Guéna

Jocelyne Guéna is research director at the CNRS. A former student at the Ecole Normale Supérieure, she obtained her PhD in 1985, in Marie-Anne Bouchiat's team at the Kastler Brossel Laboratory, on the first observation of Parity Violation in the cesium atom, which constitutes an experimental low energy test of fundamental interaction unification theories. Jocelyne Guéna pushed the precision of these measures of Parity Violation and received in 1999 the Servant Prize from the Académie des Sciences for her contribution to this field of research.

In 2005, Jocelyne Guéna made a change of study towards frequency standard metrology. She spent two years in Switzerland, at the Neuchâtel Observatory and then at METAS in Bern, where she participated in the development of a laser-cooled continuous cesium-jet atomic fountain. In 2007, she joined the LNE-SYRTE at the Paris Observatory. It is dedicated to the state-of-the-art development of the LNE-SYRTE cesium and rubidium cold atom fountains, their applications to time-frequency metrology and fundamental physics tests.

Giovanni Daniele Rovera

Daniele Rovera

Giovanni Daniele Rovera is a research engineer at LNE. In 1981 he obtained the "Laurea di dottore ingeneria elettronica" at the Politecnico di Torino. From 1981 to 1984 he worked at the Istituto Elettrotecnico Nazionale Galileo Ferraris (INRIM) on time transfer, the development of a 600 GHz frequency standard using magnesium and on studies of systematic effects in commercial cesium clocks. His parallel activities lead him to develop a small company for the realization of instruments dedicated to air sports.

In 1989 he joined the LPTF (now LNE-SYRTE) at the Paris Observatory. There he contributed to the realization of the optically pumped cesium clock (JPO) and the development of frequency standards based on infrared and visible lasers. He was responsible for the frequency synthesis chain linking standards in the microwave to mid-infrared range, and for the development of the first chain directly linking microwave to visible frequencies, based on a femtosecond laser. In 2006 he changed orientation to work on the Time part and on the transportable atomic fountain FOM within the LNE-SYRTE.

 

Michel Abgrall

Michel Abgrall

Michel Abgrall is a CNRS research engineer. He obtained his PhD in 2003 on the characterization and operation of the FOM transportable atomic fountain at LNE-SYRTE. From 2004 to 2007, he worked at CNES (Toulouse) on the ground characterization of the PHARAO cold atom space clock engineering model and on the simulation of its expected flight performances. He then returned to the LNE-SYRTE to prepare the ground segment of the ACES space mission.

His activities then focused on the generation and distribution of an ultrastable reference based on a cryogenic oscillator and a set of hydrogen masers, the improvement of the UTC(OP) time scale and the exploitation of the atomic fountains of the laboratory for the improvement of their performances and for their applications in time-frequency metrology and fundamental physics. He is responsible for the operational service of the National Time References since 2011.

Research at LNE

LNE's mission is to provide the industry and academia with increasingly accurate, precise and traceable measurements that are connected to the International System of Units (SI). For all fields, it must accompany or even anticipate scientific, industrial or societal developments. Research, whether fundamental or applied, occupies a central place in all laboratory activities.

Fundamental research at the service of the IS

As the French metrology leader, the LNE is the French guarantor of the International System (SI) units. But it is also very involved, at the international level, in the revision of some of them. Indeed, several LNE research teams are actively participating in the redefinition of the kilogram, the ampere and the kelvin, placing the LNE - and France - among the key players for the revisions expected in 2018 on these units.

Research and development

Transferring the tools designed at LNE to manufacturers remains one of the priority objectives of LNE's R&D teams. By taking part in ambitious European projects and strengthening links with competitiveness clusters, LNE is continuously and deeply anchoring itself in the industrial base. It thus ensures the transfer of its research results to industry and enhances its skills in various ways (scientific publications, integration of industrialists into partnership and European research programmes, design of measurement methods adapted to the specific problems of industrialists, etc.).


 

Key figures

115

research projects including 60 JRPs
(Joint Research Program)

190

publications in refereed journals

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

325

communications

64

theses in progress

 

 

 

 

 

 

The LNE Research Prize

Created in 2009, the LNE Research Prize aims to reward researchers who contribute to the success and scientific reputation of the French Metrology Network it manages and its own research activity.

Previous winners:

  • 2016 - Philippe Cassette (ionizing radiation)
  • 2015 - Laurent Pitre (thermal metrology)
  • 2014 - Paola Fisicaro (inorganic chemistry and electrochemistry) & Yves Hermier (thermal metrology)
  • 2013 - Aimé Ostrowsky (calorimetry for ionizing radiation) & Philippe Laurent (frequency standards)
  • 2012 - Jean-Rémy Filtz (photometry, radiometry, temperature and pyrometry)
  • 2011 - Jacques Perdereau (electroacoustics) & Marie-Martine Bé (radionuclides)
  • 2010 - Gérard Genevès and Patrick Juncar (watt balance)
  • 2009 - André Clairon (time-frequency)

Press contacts

LNE : Alexandre Papin • +33 1 40 43 38 92 • alexandre.papin@lne.fr – Valérie Mulot • +33 1 40 43 40 93

 

×
En poursuivant votre navigation sur ce site, vous acceptez l’utilisation de cookies conformément à notre politique de données personnelles. En savoir plus.

Temps-fréquence : 3 chercheurs récompensés par le Prix LNE de la Recherche

Le LNE a récompensé, le mercredi 6 décembre 2017, trois chercheurs du LNE-SYRTE pour leurs travaux sur le temps-fréquence. Jocelyne Guéna, Daniele Rovera et Michel Abgrall ont reçu, des mains de Thomas Grenon, directeur général du LNE, le Prix LNE de la Recherche qui récompense les chercheurs contribuant à la réussite et à la réputation scientifique du LNE ainsi que du Réseau national de la métrologie française (RNMF) qu’il pilote.

Afin de réaliser le temps atomique international (TAI) et le temps universel coordonné (UTC), qui sont les échelles de temps sur lesquelles repose notre société, il est nécessaire de disposer d’étalons de fréquence d’une précision extrême. Jocelyne Guéna, Daniele Rovera et Michel Abgrall travaillent depuis plusieurs années, au sein de l'Observatoire de Paris, à la réalisation et à l’utilisation de ces étalons primaires de temps et de fréquence. Ils ont notamment mis en œuvre un ensemble unique de fontaines atomiques et développé des méthodes et des moyens qui conduisent, depuis plus de 10 ans, à une disponibilité exceptionnelle des étalons Temps-fréquence à une exactitude optimale.

Ils ont également développé une nouvelle méthode de réalisation d’UTC(OP), réalisation physique d’UTC de l’Observatoire de Paris et base du temps légal français, établie à partir d’un maser à hydrogène piloté à l’aide d’une ou plusieurs fontaines atomiques. Cette réalisation est l’une des meilleures au monde et ne diffère d’UTC que de quelques nanosecondes !

Pour cette 9ème édition du Prix LNE de la recherche, le LNE est fier de récompenser 3 chercheurs qui permettent à la France, et au LNE-SYRTE en particulier, de contribuer de façon majeure à la réalisation de la seconde ainsi qu’à sa dissémination.

Thomas Grenon, directeur général du LNE

Gros plan sur les travaux

Réaliser des étalons de temps

Photo horlogeEn 2017 nous avons célébré le 50ème anniversaire de la « seconde atomique ». En effet, depuis 1967 la seconde, dans le Système international d’unités (SI), n’est plus définie selon les périodes de rotation de la Terre mais d’après la période de radiation d’un atome de césium. Cette définition, bien que plus précise et stable, nécessite la mise en place d’instruments métrologiques de pointe et d’une solide expertise afin de réaliser des étalons de références.

Il s’agit d’abord d’étudier de manière toujours plus approfondie la physique au cœur de l’étalon pour obtenir les meilleures exactitudes. Puis développer la fiabilité, le contrôle et pour certaines applications, la transportabilité des étalons, afin de rendre ce niveau ultime de performances effectivement disponible pour les utilisateurs. Enfin, il s’agit de transférer les performances des étalons de fréquence aux échelles de temps, en particulier le temps atomique international (TAI), le temps universel coordonné (UTC) et les représentations physiques locales d’UTC.

C’est ce à quoi ce sont employés Jocelyne Guéna, Daniele Rovera et Michel Abgrall avec le plus grand succès au cours des dernières années. 

Ils ont de plus apporté une grande attention à la pérennité de leurs travaux, tout en faisant preuve d’une remarquable disponibilité pour leur exploitation. Parmi les très nombreux résultats qui en découlent, on retiendra :

  • Une contribution majeure à l’élaboration du temps atomique international, représentant plus de 40 % de tous les étalonnages du TAI depuis 10 ans.
  • La réalisation des premiers étalonnages du temps atomique international basés sur une représentation secondaire de la seconde : la transition hyperfine de l’atome du rubidium.
  • Des mesures absolues de fréquence à l’état de l’art. En particulier, des mesures de fréquences optiques déterminantes pour le raccordement des domaines optiques et micro-ondes, et pour l’avancée vers une redéfinition de la seconde à partir du domaine optique.
  • La réalisation de tests des lois physiques fondamentales qui contribuent à la quête d’une théorie unifiée des 3 interactions (électrofaible, forte et gravitationnelle) et à la recherche de la matière noire.
  • Des tests à l’état de l’art de méthodes de transferts de temps par satellites et par fibre optique.
  • La caractérisation de l’horloge spatiale à atomes froids PHARAO (Projet d’Horloge Atomique à Refroidissement d’Atomes en Orbite) développée par le CNES et l’industrie française.
  • La mise à disposition des références nationales de temps par plusieurs méthodes et pour de nombreuses applications scientifiques, industrielles et sociétales. Par exemple, le CNES, la DGA ou encore des industriels des télécommunications utilisent des raccordements aux références nationales de temps du LNE-SYRTE pour leurs activités.
Fontaine atomique

Les lauréats

Jocelyne Guéna

Jocelyne GuénaJocelyne Guéna est directrice de recherche au CNRS. Ancienne élève à l'Ecole Normale Supérieure, elle a obtenu son Doctorat d'Etat en 1985, dans l’équipe de Marie-Anne Bouchiat au Laboratoire Kastler Brossel, sur la première observation de la Violation de la Parité dans l'atome de césium, qui constitue un test expérimental à basse énergie des théories d'unification des interactions fondamentales. Jocelyne Guéna a poussé la précision de ces mesures de Violation de la Parité et reçu en 1999 le prix Servant de l'Académie des Sciences pour sa contribution à ce champ de recherche.

En 2005, Jocelyne Guéna effectue un changement de thématique vers la métrologie des étalons de fréquence. Elle passe deux années en Suisse, à l'Observatoire de Neuchâtel puis au METAS à Bern, où elle participe au développement d'une fontaine atomique à jet de césium continu refroidi par laser. En 2007, elle rejoint le LNE-SYRTE à l'Observatoire de Paris. Elle se consacre au développement à l'état de l'art des fontaines à atomes froids de césium et rubidium du LNE-SYRTE, à leurs applications à la métrologie temps-fréquence et aux tests de physique fondamentale.
 

Giovanni Daniele Rovera

Daniele RoveraGiovanni Daniele Rovera est ingénieur-chercheur LNE. Il a obtenu en 1981 la "Laurea di dottore in ingeneria elettronica" au Politecnico di Torino. De 1981 à 1984 il a travaillé à l'Istituto Elettrotecnico Nazionale Galileo Ferraris (INRIM) sur le transfert de temps, le développement d'un étalon de fréquence à 600 GHz utilisant le magnésium et sur les études des effets systématiques dans les horloges à césium commerciales. Ses activités parallèles l'amènent à développer une petite entreprise pour la réalisation d'instruments dédiés aux sports aériens. 

En 1989 il intègre le LPTF (actuel LNE-SYRTE) à l'Observatoire de Paris. Il y a contribué à la réalisation de l'horloge à césium à pompage optique (JPO) et au développement d'étalons de fréquence basés sur des lasers infrarouge et visible. Il a été responsable de la chaîne de synthèse de fréquence reliant les étalons dans le domaine des microondes à l’infrarouge moyens, et du développement de la première chaîne reliant directement les fréquences micro-ondes au visible, basée sur un laser femtoseconde. En 2006 il change d'orientation pour travailler sur la partie Temps et sur la fontaine atomique transportable FOM au sein du LNE-SYRTE. 

 

Michel Abgrall

Michel AbgrallMichel Abgrall est ingénieur de recherche CNRS. Il a obtenu son Doctorat en 2003 sur la caractérisation et l'exploitation de la fontaine atomique transportable FOM au LNE-SYRTE. De 2004 à 2007, il travaille au CNES (Toulouse) sur la caractérisation au sol du modèle d'ingénierie de l'horloge spatiale à atome froids PHARAO et sur la simulation de ses performances attendues en vol. Il revient par la suite au LNE-SYRTE pour préparer le segment sol de la mission spatiale ACES. 

Ses activités portent alors sur la génération et la distribution d'une référence ultrastable basée sur un oscillateur cryogénique et un ensemble de masers à hydrogène, l'amélioration de l'échelle de temps UTC(OP) et l'exploitation des fontaines atomiques du laboratoire pour l'amélioration de leurs performances et pour leurs applications en métrologie temps-fréquence et en physique fondamentale. Il est responsable du service opérationnel des Références nationales de temps depuis 2011.
 

La recherche au LNE

Le LNE a pour mission de mettre à la disposition des industriels et du monde académique des mesures toujours plus justes, précises, traçables et raccordées au Système international d’unités (SI). Pour tous les domaines, il doit accompagner, voire anticiper les évolutions scientifiques, industriels ou sociétaux. La recherche, qu’elle soit fondamentale ou appliquée, occupe un place centrale dans l’ensemble des activités du laboratoire.

Une recherche fondamentale au service du SI
En tant que pilote de la métrologie française, le LNE est le garant français des unités du Système international (SI). Mais il est également très impliqué, au niveau international, dans la révision de certaines d’entre elles. En effet plusieurs équipes de chercheurs du LNE participent activement à la redéfinition du kilogramme, de l’ampère et du kelvin, plaçant le LNE - et la France - parmi les acteurs incontournables pour les révisions attendues en 2018 sur ces unités.

Recherche et développement
Transférer les outils conçus au LNE vers les industriels reste un des objectifs prioritaires des équipes R&D du LNE. En prenant part à des projets européens ambitieux et en resserrant les liens avec les pôles de compétitivité, le LNE s’ancre continuellement et profondément dans le tissu industriel. Il assure ainsi le transfert de ses résultats de recherche à l’industrie et valorise ses compétences de diverses façons (publications scientifiques, intégration d’industriels dans les programmes de recherche partenariale et européens, conception de moyens de mesures adaptés aux problématiques spécifiques des industriels, etc...).

Recherche et normalisation
Enfin, de nombreux chercheurs du LNE participent à des projets de recherche normatifs afin de soutenir les travaux des commissions de normalisation.
 

Chiffres clés

115

projets de recherche dont 60 JRP
(Joint Research Program)

190

publications dans des revues
à comités de lecture

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

325

communications

64

thèses en cours

 

 

 

 

 

 

Le Prix LNE de la recherche

Créé en 2009, le Prix LNE de la Recherche, vise à récompenser les chercheurs contribuant à la réussite et à la réputation scientifique du Réseau Métrologie Française qu’il pilote et de sa propre activité de recherche.

Les précédents lauréats :

  • 2016 – Philippe Cassette (rayonnements ionisants)
  • 2015 – Laurent Pitre (métrologie thermique)
  • 2014 – Paola Fisicaro (chimie inorganique et électrochimie) & Yves Hermier (métrologie thermique)
  • 2013 – Aimé Ostrowsky (calorimétrie pour les rayonnements ionisants) & Philippe Laurent (étalons de fréquence)
  • 2012 – Jean-Rémy Filtz (photométrie, radiométrie, température et pyrométrie)
  • 2011 – Jacques Perdereau (électroacoustique) & Marie-Martine Bé (radionucléides)
  • 2010 – Gérard Genevès et Patrick Juncar (balance du watt)
  • 2009 – André Clairon (temps-fréquence)
     

Contacts presse

LNE : Alexandre Papin • 01 40 43 38 92 • alexandre.papin@lne.fr – Valérie Mulot • 01 40 43 40 93

 

×
En poursuivant votre navigation sur ce site, vous acceptez l’utilisation de cookies conformément à notre politique de données personnelles. En savoir plus.