OR

I'm looking for in the

MDSAP - Medical Device Single Audit Program

By opting to use the MDSAP program, a medical device manufacturer calls upon the services of a recognized "auditing organization" (AO) to proceed with an evaluation of its Quality Management System (QMS) within the regulatory framework of 5 countries: Australia, Brazil, Canada, Japan, and the United States. MDSAP will become mandatory in Canada as of January 1st 2019.

Presentation of the certification

What are the guiding principles behind MDSAP?

MDSAP is a voluntary program that will become mandatory in Canada beginning on January 1st 2019 for all Class II, III and IV medical devices (MD). A medical device manufacturer is eligible to call upon the services of a recognized "auditing organization" (AO) to proceed with an evaluation of its Quality Management System (QMS).

LNE/G-MED has been authorized to conduct MDSAP audits. The certification contract is associated with a 3-year cycle.
During each audit, the conformity of the company's quality management system with requirements stipulated under 5 regulations is assessed. The program's cornerstone is the "audit model", i.e. a document that serves to guide the auditing procedure. Nothing prevents this document from being used to actually develop the QMS, since it introduces a specific audit protocol and step-by-step approach to calculating audit time intervals.

Audit reports are submitted to the 5 regulatory authorities for use within the process of managing certification applications. Each country retains sovereignty and establishes how the program may be assimilated into its own regulatory framework.

Transitioning between MDSAP and CMDCAS

Since 2014, Health Canada has allowed for certificates relative to both programs, depending on the manufacturer's preference, to be appended to the certification applications submitted for Class II, III or IV medical devices. As of January 1st 2019, only those certificates validated within the scope of the MDSAP program shall be accepted. This modification means that all companies holding a certification issued under the purview of the CMDCAS program must, beginning now, anticipate their transition to the MDSAP program.

From October 1st 2017 forward, LNE/G-MED will no longer be proposing the CMDCAS certification framework. Also of this date, in order to apply Health Canada's decision under optimal conditions, CMDCAS certificates will only be acknowledged as part of a program transition step from CMDCAS to MDSAP. No new CMDCAS certification contracts will be drawn up.

For companies currently holding a CMDCAS certificate, a commercial contract will define:

  • CMDCAS certification contract termination conditions,
  • the conditions imposed on implementing the MDSAP certification contract (which incorporates a bilateral commitment on initial MDSAP audit dates).

Q&A forum

Additional information

Obtaining certification

Begin your application to obtain certification within the scope of the CE marking program by requesting the "Quality Management System Certification" information questionnaire, with a simple click on the "Obtain a quote" button.

For more information on the certification process, a no-cost webinar is available:

Advantages and challenges inherent in the MDSAP program

See also...

×
En poursuivant votre navigation sur ce site, vous acceptez l’utilisation de cookies conformément à notre politique de données personnelles. En savoir plus.

MDSAP - Medical Device Single Audit Program

En utilisant le programme MDSAP, un fabricant de dispositifs médicaux fait appel à une “auditing organization”(AO) reconnue pour procéder à l’évaluation de son SMQ dans le cadre des règlementations de 5 pays : Australie, Brésil, Canada, Etats-Unis et Japon. Le MDSAP devient obligatoire au Canada à partir du 1er janvier 2019.

Présentation de la certification

Quels sont les principes du MDSAP ?

C’est un programme volontaire qui deviendra obligatoire au Canada pour les DM de classe II, III et IV à partir du 1er janvier 2019. Un fabricant de dispositifs médicaux peut faire appel à une “auditing organization”(AO) reconnue pour procéder à l’évaluation de son SMQ.

Le LNE/G-MED est autorisé à réaliser les audits MDSAP. Le contrat de certification est associé à un cycle de 3 ans.
Lors de chaque audit, la conformité du  système de management de la qualité de l’entreprise aux exigences des 5 réglementations est évaluée. La pierre angulaire du programme c’est  l“audit model”; c’est un document qui guide la démarche de l’auditeur. Rien n’empêche qu’il serve aussi à la construction d’un SMQ . Il introduit une démarche d’audit spécifique et des modalités particulières de calcul de la durée des audits.

Les rapports d’audit sont transmis aux 5 autorités réglementaires qui les utilisent dans le cadre de la gestion des demandes d'homologation. Chaque pays conserve sa souveraineté et a défini la façon dont le programme peut être pris en compte au sein de sa propre règlementation.

Transition entre MDSAP et CMDCAS

Depuis 2014, Santé Canada accepte que les certificats relatifs aux 2 programmes, selon le choix du fabricant, soient joints aux demandes d’homologation des dispositifs médicaux de classe II, III ou IV. A partir du 1er janvier 2019, seuls les certificats émis dans le cadre du MDSAP seront admis. Cela signifie que toutes les entreprises qui ont une certification dans le cadre du programme CMDCAS doivent dès à présent envisager leur transition vers le programme MDSAP.

Le LNE/G-MED  ne proposera plus le programme de Certification CMDCAS à partir du 1er octobre 2017. A partir de cette date, et afin d’appliquer dans les meilleures conditions possible la décision de Santé Canada,  les certificats CMDCAS seront maintenus dans le seul cadre d’un système  de transition du programme CMDCAS vers le programme MDSAP. Aucun nouveau contrat de certification CMDCAS  ne sera établi.

Pour les entreprises détentrices d’un certificat CMDCAS, un contrat commercial définira :

  • Les conditions de résiliation du contrat de certification CMDCAS
  • Les conditions de mise en œuvre du contrat de certification MDSAP (intégrant un engagement bilatéral sur les dates de l’audit initial MDSAP)

Foire aux questions

Informations complémentaires

Obtenir sa certification

Débutez votre démarche pour obtenir la certification dans le cadre du marquage CE en demandant le questionnaire d'information "Certification de système de management de la qualité" en utilisant le bouton "Obtenir un devis".

Pour en savoir plus sur le processus de certification, un webinar gratuit est disponible :

Avantages et enjeux du programme MDSAP

A consulter aussi...

×
En poursuivant votre navigation sur ce site, vous acceptez l’utilisation de cookies conformément à notre politique de données personnelles. En savoir plus.