Fire behavior of thermal insulation materials: EPS raw materials and XPS

The "LNE FEU PS" certification is the best way to demonstrate compliance with the regulations on expanded polystyrene raw materials or for extruded polystyrene used for the thermal insulation of Classified Installations for Environmental Protection (ICPE), and for external thermal insulation of establishments open to public (ERP), or internal thermal insulation for residential buildings.

Presentation of the certification

Why?

The regulatory requirements are based on the regulations of 15 April 2010 relating to ICPE and Technical Instruction No 249 relating to facades for ERP and the regulations of 7 August 2019 relating to residential buildings, which require the manufacturer to set up provisions relating to the fire behaviour of raw materials for expanded polystyrene (EPS ) or of extruded polystyrene (XPS).
The LNE FEU PS certification is aimed at producers of raw materials for expanded polystyrene or of extruded polystyrene and allows prescribers, contractors, users of the building distribution to ensure compliance with the regulatory requirements.

How?

LNE ensures the fire performance of the product and its maintenance via a reaction to fire class of the product at least equivalent to D-s3, d2, as well as the flame retardant monitoring of extruded polystyrene or of raw materials for expanded polystyrene at the producer through annual inspections of manufacturing sites and specific fire tests at the plant's laboratory. This ensures that the fire performance of the product is maintained safely.
 

The most?

Together with the "LNE feu PS" certification, manufacturers of raw materials for expanded polystyrene could be certified in accordance with the E class certification as defined in Annex E of EN13163 standards for raw materials. This certification allows EPS raw materials transformers to reduce the frequency of their factory production control for the evaluation of the reaction to fire of samples made of expanded EPS raw material.

Get certified

 

Certification rules define the framework of the managing certification, including the scope, requirements to be met by the applicant /stakeholder, during admission and surveillance procedures. The procedures for obtaining the certification are defined in Chapter 3 of the rules of certification for fire behavior of thermal insulation materials (LNE FEU PS), specifying in particular the technical file to be transmitted and the initial evaluation process.

Comportement au feu des matériaux d'isolation thermique : matières premières EPS et XPS

La certification LNE FEU PS constitue le meilleur mode de preuve de conformité aux exigences réglementaires concernant le polystyrène extrudé ou les matières premières de polystyrène expansé utilisés dans le cadre de l'isolation thermique par l'extérieur des bâtiments et permet notamment de répondre à l'IT249.

Présentation de la certification

Pourquoi ?

Les exigences réglementaires relatives aux façades s'articulent autour des arrêtés du 15 avril 2010 et de l'instruction technique N°249 qui imposent la mise en place par le fabricant, de dispositions relatives au comportement au feu du polystyrène extrudé (XPS) et des matières premières pour le polystyrène expansé (EPS). 
Ainsi, la certification LNE FEU PS s'adresse aux produteurs de polystyrène extrudé ou de matières premières de polystyrène expansé et permet aux prescripteurs, donneurs d'ordre, utilisateurs de la distribution du bâtiment de s'assurer de la conformité du produit aux exigences réglementaires.

Comment ?

Le LNE s'assure de la performance au feu du produit et de son maintien via un rapport de classement de réaction au feu du produit dont le niveau est au moins équivalent à D-s3,d2, ainsi que du suivi de l'ignifugation du polystyrène extrudé ou de la matière première pour la fabrication du polystyrène expansé chez le producteur par le biais de contrôles annuels des sites de fabrication et d'essais feu spécifiques à la marque au laboratoire de l'usine. Ainsi, la constance de la performance au feu du produit est sécurisée

Le plus ?

Conjointement, le LNE propose aux fabricants de matières premières de polystyrène expansé la certification du classement E comme définie dans l'annexe E de la norme EN13163 pour leur matière première. Cette certification permet aux transformateurs de matières premières EPS de réduire la fréquence du CPU pour l'évaluation de la réaction au feu des épouvettes issues de matière première ignifuge expansée.

Obtenir sa certification

Les règles de certification définissent le cadre de gestion de la certification, notamment le champ d'application, les exigences à respecter par le demandeur/titulaire, les modalités d'admission, de surveillance et les intervenants. Les modalités d'obtention de la certification sont définies au chapitre 3 du référentiel du comportement au feu des matériaux d'isolation thermique (LNE FEU PS) et précisent notamment le dossier technique à transmettre ainsi que le processus d'évaluation initiale.

 

×
En poursuivant votre navigation sur ce site, vous acceptez l’utilisation de cookies conformément à notre politique de données personnelles. En savoir plus.