OR

I'm looking for in the

120 years of LNE

a story of the future

Founded in 1901, the LNE is celebrating its 120th anniversary this year. This is an opportunity to look back on a history that has been entirely devoted to innovation in every possible field - and in particular health, transport, the environment and ICT. A journey that is already serving as a springboard for our missions of tomorrow. More than yesterday, less than tomorrow... that could be our motto.

Innovation for passion

Image
120 ans du LNE

Rooted in the history of science and technology, LNE has always been a player in innovation. Today, we want to reaffirm this commitment, so that we can play a full part in the revolutions to come.

From Gustave Eiffel's Panhard Levassor to autonomous vehicles, from 1900 thermometers to intelligent medical devices, our roadmap remains constant: to give confidence in emerging technologies, in order to protect citizens and consumers, but also to support the industrial competitiveness of our country. This mission is sometimes tinged with resilience issues, as was the case at the end of the two world wars, and as is the case today, when we are faced with unprecedented climate and health crises.

 

From our genesis to the present day, our path has remained consistent. We have always been at the side of the forerunners. We have always adapted to accompany, and even anticipate, their needs. And we will continue to do so.

Thomas Grenon, chief executive officer
In french only

Four priorities for the 2020 decade

Now that it is 120 years old, the LNE is continuing to move forward and is focusing on four major priorities for the current decade.

Ecological transition

We are doing our utmost to meet environmental challenges and respond to new scientific and industrial needs concerning the energy transition (storage, development of alternative energies, smart grids, etc.), climate monitoring (ocean acidification), pollution control (water, air, soil), and biodiversity protection.

Health and safety

We are maintaining our efforts in the field of health, particularly with regard to nuclear medicine and the prevention of high-stakes diseases (neurodegenerative, cardiovascular, etc.). In addition, the recurrence of pandemics opens up a new field of research for us, in aerosol metrology. As for the safety of citizens, it will of course remain one of our major concerns.

Digital transition

With our recognized expertise in the evaluation of artificial intelligence, we will strengthen our tools and methods to cover all the fields of application of these technologies, starting with the most critical. The challenge is to promote their acceptability and their development, in the service of our technological independence. We will also ensure that we support cybersecurity, a corollary of the country's digital transformation.

Industrial competitiveness

To contribute to the emergence of the factory of the future, we will continue to invest in quality control for additive manufacturing and in the evaluation of robotics. We will also be stepping up research projects on the characterization of advanced materials and nanomaterials, particularly graphene, to support Safer by Design approaches.

Research, metrology, testing, certification, training... all our businesses are mobilized to support initiatives in these areas, both public and private.

But beyond that, our employees will continue to be involved in a multitude of other areas. The diversity of our stakeholders and the multidisciplinary nature of our teams are another hallmark of the LNE DNA.

120 ans du LNE

une histoire d’avenir

Né en 1901, le LNE célèbre cette année ses 120 ans. L’occasion de revenir sur un parcours entièrement voué à l’innovation, dans tous les domaines possibles – et en particulier la santé, les transports, l’environnement et les TIC. Un parcours qui sert déjà de tremplin à nos missions de demain. Plus qu’hier, moins que demain... telle pourrait être notre devise.

L’innovation pour passion

Image
120 ans du LNE

Ancré dans l’histoire des sciences et technologies, le LNE s’est toujours positionné comme acteur de l’innovation. Et nous souhaitons aujourd’hui réaffirmer cet engagement, pour prendre pleinement part aux révolutions à venir.

De la Panhard Levassor de Gustave Eiffel aux véhicules autonomes, des thermomètres de 1900 aux dispositifs médicaux intelligents... notre feuille de route reste constante : donner confiance dans les technologies naissantes, afin de protéger les citoyens et consommateurs, mais aussi de soutenir la compétitivité industrielle de notre pays. Une mission parfois teintée d’enjeux de résilience, comme ce fut le cas au sortir des deux guerres mondiales, et comme c’est aujourd’hui le cas, alors que nous sommes confrontés à des crises climatique et sanitaire inédites.

 

Depuis notre genèse jusqu’à aujourd’hui, notre parcours est resté cohérent. Nous avons toujours été aux côtés des précurseurs. Nous nous sommes toujours adaptés pour accompagner, voire anticiper, leurs besoins. Et nous allons continuer.

Thomas Grenon, directeur général

Quatre priorités pour la décennie 2020

Du haut de ses 120 ans, le LNE poursuit ainsi sa trajectoire, et ouvre la décennie en cours sur quatre grandes priorités.

Transition écologique

Nous mettons tout en œuvre pour relever les défis environnementaux, et répondre aux nouveaux besoins scientifiques et industriels concernant la transition énergétique (stockage, développement d’énergies alternatives, réseaux intelligents...), la surveillance du climat (acidification des océans), la lutte contre la pollution (eau, air, sols), et la protection de la biodiversité.

Santé et sécurité

Nous maintenons nos efforts dans le domaine de la santé, notamment en ce qui concerne la médecine nucléaire et la prévention des maladies à forts enjeux (neurodégénératives, cardiovasculaires...). Par ailleurs, la récurrence des pandémies ouvre pour nous un nouveau champ de recherche, en métrologie des aérosols. Quant à la sécurité des citoyens, elle restera bien sûr l’une de nos préoccupations majeures.

Transition numérique

Dotés d’une expertise reconnue en évaluation de l’intelligence artificielle, nous allons renforcer nos outils et méthodes pour couvrir tous les domaines d’application de ces technologies, à commencer par les plus critiques. L’enjeu est de favoriser leur acceptabilité et leur essor, au service de notre indépendance technologique. Nous veillerons aussi à soutenir la cybersécurité, corollaire de la transformation numérique du pays.

En savoir plus

Compétitivité industrielle

Pour contribuer à l’émergence de l’usine du futur, nous allons poursuivre notre investissement dans le contrôle qualité de la fabrication additive, et dans l’évaluation de la robotique. Nous allons également démultiplier les projets de recherche autour de la caractérisation de matériaux avancés et nanomatériaux, notamment le graphène, pour appuyer les démarches Safer by design.

Recherche, métrologie, essais, certification, formation... tous nos métiers se mobilisent pour accompagner les initiatives dans ces domaines, autant publiques que privées.

Mais au-delà, nos collaborateurs continueront de s’impliquer sur une multitude d’autres sujets. Car la diversité de nos parties prenantes et la pluridisciplinarité de nos équipes sont un autre marqueur de l’ADN LNE.